Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History / Primary Sources / Research Guide: Good Resources for Primary Source Research

A guide to help SAES students with primary source research using both public and SAES resources

Library of Congress Digital Collections

 

 

 

 

The Library of Congress Digital Collection is a wonderful resouce for primary sources. Note the field on the left of the webpage. You can search by

  • subject (i.e. American History, War and Military, etc.),
  • collection
  • format (image, newspaper article, etc)

 

If you use the dropdown menu at the top, you can switch from Digital Collection to Personal NarrativeIn personal narrative, you will find interviews with people, and in particular a large selection of interviews with veterans.

Historical Newspapers (Proquest)

Image of Newspaper Stand / Hyperlink to Historical Newspaper Database

ProQuest's Historical Newspaper database has full coverage of  36 newspapers going back into the 1700s, most articles are from the 20th century, however. Newspapers include The Washington Post, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and other well known publications. Depending on your topic, you might prefer a regional newspaper, such as The Atlanta Journal or The Chicago Tribune.

 

Photo by beanworks at Morguefile.com, used under creative commons license.

National Archives

The National Archives have a rich set of data, but it might take a little more digging to find. You can search in a search bar, but also within collections such as War and Military Records, Founding Documents, specific places or subpopulations such as Women.

Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets

Digital Public Library Logo

The Primary Source Sets of the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) are curated around specific topics. Each set contains numerous primary sources including images, music, interviews and more. There are many, so you will need to scroll through to see if your topic is included.