Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health / Drug Research: Research Sources

Encyclopedia Britannica

Britannica is a great resource for background information and includes numerous articles about drugs and drug abuse. Use the search box to search the name of your drug. Remember that if you are off campus, you will need to log in. Log ins are found by going to saeslibrary.follettdestiny.com, and using your SAES credentials to log in. 

American Academy of Pediatrics Healthy Children

The American Academy of Pediatrics has a website for families which includes some information on drug and alcohol use. 

 

Historical Newspapers (Proquest)

Image of Newspaper Stand / Hyperlink to Historical Newspaper Database

ProQuest's Historical Newspaper database has full coverage of  36 newspapers going back into the 1700s, most articles are from the 20th century, however. Newspapers include The Washington Post, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and other well known publications. Depending on your topic, you might prefer a regional newspaper, such as The Atlanta Journal or The Chicago Tribune.

 

Photo by beanworks at Morguefile.com, used under creative commons license.

National Institute on Drug Abuse

The National Institute on Drug Abuse is part of the National Institutes of Health. This link will take you right to their "Drug Facts" page. Be sure to check the "related topics" tab for additional information, such as driving under the influence, treatment, and recovery.

Drug Enforcement Agency

This is an excellent source for an overview of different drugs. The web page provides fact sheets on specific drugs. The intial page for a drug doesn't have a lot of information, but when you click the link to download a fact sheet there is a lot of detail on a single page.

Latin American News Digest

Remember! This site can only be used on campus. However, this is a great source of current events on news from Latin America. 

https://latinamericannewsdigest.com/

MedLine Plus

Medline Plus is a project of the National Library of Medicine. Search your topic in the search bar. Once you are at your results, you may want to use the side bar to see reference articles if you are looking for background info. 

Harvard Health Publishing

The Harvard School of Public Health has numerous articles that are written for a general audience. I have linked HERE to the page on addiction which includes some information about specific substances, but it is probably worth searching in the search box for other topics.

In Context Databases

In Context databases are great for refining your search. From the start page, use the search bar, once you have some results, try the topic finder at the bottom of the right side navigation bar.

 

Gale Global Issues in Context 

Gale US History in Context

Gale World History in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context